If you have any questions or concerns, please contact

CLICK HERE to view the 2020 Rule Book

Beginning for the 2020 season, there are some rule changes will take effect immediately. Many follow their respective IWWF changes or are a move towards alignment with IWWF Rules.

6.1:      Overall Scoring

Two fundamental changes are made here that affect all overall skiers. The first is to include onlyoverall skiers in all overall point calculations, the second is to alter the calculations of all jump overall points, following the IWWF model.

            Slalom and Tricks          =          Skier’s score x 1000

                                                            Best Overall Skier’s Score

            For example:

Jump ( MU21, M, EM ) = [Skier’s score – 25] x 1000 / (Best Overall Skiers Score – 25)

**Please see the 2020 Rulebook for details on all other divisions.

14.4:    Jumping Speeds and Tolerances

14.4.1 (f)          The maximum boat speed for the U10 division has been lowered to 42kpH.

14.13    Automatic Disqualification (moved from Rule 9.2)

A skier may not be allowed tocontinue in that event in that round if, after leaving the boat’s wake on a definite cut to the ramp, the skier elects to pass between the boat course and the ramp, whether or not he/she retains the towrope.

15.5:    Boat Speeds and Rope Lengths

*Skiers in the Women IV division shall have the option of a maximum speed of 52 kpH, however their scores will be reduced by 6 compared to those who ski at 55 kpH.

**Skiers in the Men VIII division shall have the option of a maximum speed of 49 kpH, however their scores will be reduced by 6 compared to those who ski at 52 kpH. Note also change in minimum speed to 43kpH

16.11.5            A rope wrapped around the pylon and held by the release person may be used as a release mechanism.  The rope, measured from the inside of the attaching loop must not be longer than 1.0m. For safety reasons this rope shall not have knots or splices (except the knot or splice which constitutes the mechanism to which the rope is attached to the pylon).

16.17.3            To be scored, a reverse trick must immediately follow the basic turn in the same pass however, any type of 180º turn is allowed between two such turns. The reverse shall not be disallowed simply because it follows an attempted trick which has not been credited or because the basic trick is a repeated trick. If the original (basic)

Appendix V:     New Trick:        FFL5F – Fflip with 540 B-F         Trick #65          950pts.

Continue Reading No Comments


Water Ski Canada and the Shalom Park host committee have been actively monitoring the COVID-19 crisis and its implications for the 2020 competitive water ski season, including  the 2020 Canadian Water Ski National Championships, currently scheduled for August 4th-9th.

Our foremost concern is to ensure the safety and well being of all participants. As we look to Nationals, we are cognizant of the time required for participants to plan for attending Nationals, the ability to qualify, the relatively short Canadian ski season,and theneeds of thehost committee to make adequate preparations for the hosting of Nationals. 

Alberta currently has mandatory restrictions on any gatherings of more than 15 people, with no defined time frame for those restrictions to be lifted. Information and updates are constantlychanging, and it is uncertain as to what the situation will be as we move into July and August.

Considering the information above and the desire to ensure the time for all necessary precautions and planning to be put in place, the following actions will be taken at this time:

  1. Registration for the event will not be opened until a final decision on the scheduling of the event has been made.
  2. Water Ski Canada and the host committee will reconvene in early May to reassess the situation
  3. Determination of whether the event will proceed will be based on Provincial & Federal legislation; participant safety and well being will be paramount to this review. 
  4. Communication of the status of Nationals will be made by May 30th through and Water Ski Canada’s social media channels

Until determination of the event has been confirmed we ask that participants NOT make any travel plans until a final decision has been communicated to the water ski community.

We wish everyone the best in these difficult times and we encourage you to follow the directions of the Public Health Agency of Canada and your local health officials.  We look forward to the resumption of Water Ski activities once the crisis has passed. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Continue Reading No Comments


The Canadian water ski community is deeply saddened by the news of  Elaine Barnes passing on March 23, 2020. Elaine, a former Executive Director of Water Ski Canada,  worked side by side with her husband Reg Barnes, travelling Canada and the world growing the sport of water skiing. 
Water Ski Canada extends our deepest condolences to the Barnes family. 

Continue Reading No Comments